Skip to main content

About Us

CSU teacher preparation is focused on success for all students.

The Department of Educator Preparation and Public School Programs serves the entire CSU system. We support campuses in achieving equity and excellence in educator preparation.

The Deans of CSU colleges and schools of education embrace a set of signature pedagogies for teacher preparation. We want every program graduate to have the knowledge, skills and classroom experience to:

  • Collaborate with other educators and families to deliver a high quality education for all students
  • Demonstrate culturally responsive practices to ensure that all students learn and grow
  • Teach and support all students successfully on day one as a beginning teacher

Campuses throughout the system are adopting the principles and methods of improvement science to continually elevate the quality of our teacher preparation programs.

 

Zulmara Cline, Ph.D.
Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor, Educator Preparation and Public School Programs
E-mail: zcline@calstate.edu

Fred Uy
Director, Educator Preparation and Public School Programs
Co-Director, Center for the Advancement of Instruction in Quantitative Reasoning
E-mail: fuy@calstate.edu

Ernest Black, Ph.D.
Systemwide Director, CalStateTEACH
E-mail: eblack@calstate.edu

Paul Tuss, Ph.D.
Director, Educator Quality Center (EdQ)
Email: ptuss@calstate.edu

Jyothi Bathina, Ph.D.
Co-Director, CSU Center for the Advancement of Reading and Writing (CAR/W)
Email: jbathina@calstate.edu

Tanya Flushmann, Ph.D.
Co-Director, CSU Center for the Advancement of Reading and Writing (CAR/W)
Email: tflushma@calpoly.edu

Kelly Estrada
Director, EduCorps
E-mail: kestrada@calstate.edu

Mark Ellis
Director, Educator Prep Toolkit
E-mail: mellis@fullerton.edu

Donnie Aguinaldo
Newsletter Coordinator
E-mail: daguinaldo@calstate.edu